Naša spletna stran vsebuje piškotke za razlikovanje in statistiko obiska, ter za samo funkcionalnost spletne strani. Z uporabo spletnega mesta soglašate s piškotki. Več o posameznih piškotkih si lahko preberete tukaj.  

Slovenian National Flag

This has been the flag of Slovenia since the country achieved independence from the former Yugoslavia in 1991. The three colours of red, white and blue originate from 1836 during the Habsburg dynasty. The national coat of arms is displayed in the top left hand corner. It is in the form of a shield with a representation of Mount Triglav in the centre, and the two undulating
blue lines represent the seas and rivers of this beautiful country. The three stars are symbols of the three major characteristics of Slovenia – geographical location, relief and history. The yellow colour dates back to the 16th century and is taken from and original coat of arms of the Count of Celje.

State and Political System

The highest state authority is the president. The president commands the armed forces and declares national emergencies. Popularly elected, he sits for five years and may serve a second term. The legislative assembly has 90 directly elected delegates (including two representing Italian and Hungarian speakers). It is advised by a 40-member, indirectly chosen, nonpartisan state council that represents economic and local interests. The executive consists of a prime minister and cabinet ministers. The current Prime Minister of the Republic of Slovenia is Mr. Janez Jansa. The Government, consisting of the Prime Minister and his respective ministers, are independent within the framework of their jurisdiction and are answerable to the National Assembly.
• The total area of Slovenia is 20.273 km2 – about the size of Wales.
• Neighbouring countries are Italy, Austria, Hungary and Croatia.
• Population 1.964.036.
• The capital is Ljubljana, meaning in Slovene language “beloved “.
• 82 % of the population is of Roman Catholic religion, others are Protestant and Muslim.
• The climate is alpine, continental and mediterranean.
• Time zone: Central European Time GMT + 1.
• Political system: multiparty parliamentary democracy.
• Slovenian Currency is the Euro (abbreviation €).
• Believe it or not, Slovenia has 47 km of coastline.
• The highest mountain in Slovenia is Mount Triglav, 2864 meters.
• The largest lake in Slovenia is Lake Bohinj.
• Vrsic Pass in the vicinity of Kranjska Gora has 50 hairpin bends.
• Slovenia is the home of the famous Lipizzaner horses.

Getting there

By Air: There are 3 international airports: Ljubljana (Brnik), Maribor & Portorož. Other airports within reasonable distance are Venice, Salzburg,Klagenfurt, Zagreb, Vienna, Munich, and Trieste.

By Car:The best way to get to know a country is by car. You can reach Slovenia via major motorways from Italy, Austria or Croatia. There are 61 international and local border crossings with Italy, 47 with Austria, 4 with Hungary and 34 with Croatia.

By Train: train can reach almost every town in Slovenia. International Express trains and other fast trains operate all year round.